NAV CANADA has announced the temporary suspension of air navigation services at 18 air traffic service facilities to ensure the continuity and safety of Canada’s air navigation system throughout the Covid-19 pandemic.

As part of this response, services will also be suspended at air traffic control towers and flight service stations, and locations that receive remote airport advisory services.

These changes to levels of service on a temporary basis will be effective for 120 days, subject to prevailing conditions of Covid-19 and are approved by Transport Canada.

Airports that are affected will remain open and aircraft will continue to land and depart.

​For every site where overnight ATS services will be temporarily suspended, at a minimum, Limited Weather Information System will be available. It comprises hourly wind, temperature, dew point and altimeter information.

Communication capability will also be available during all phases of flights, through flight information centers (FICs) and / or area control centres (ACCs) to maintain communication between pilots and the respective FIC and /or ACC.

This will provide current and forecast weather, NOTAM, IFR approach and departure clearances.

With the temporary level of service change, NAV CANADA will be able to implement flexible staffing and minimise the risk of exposure to Covid-19 for its operational units.

NAV CANADA has implemented a ‘crew’ system at its area control centres to minimise interaction between teams.

It has also undertaken a detailed risk analysis to ensure safe implementation of temporary level of service changes at affected sites.

Overnight air navigation services will be suspended at Fort Nelson BC (CYYE), Port Hardy BC (CYZT), Prince Albert (Glass Field) SK (CYPA), Cranbrook BC (CYXC), Penticton BC (CYYF), Terrace BC (CYXT), Red Deer Regional AB (CYQF), Fort St. John BC (CYXJ), Kamloops BC (CYKA), Deer Lake NL (CYDF), Charlottetown PE (CYYG) airports.

Other airports include Saint John NB (CYSJ), St. Anthony NL (CYAY), Sandspit BC (CYZP), Sydney/J.A. Douglas McCurdy NS (CYQY), Kelowna BC (CYLW), Victoria Intl BC (CYYJ) and Abbotsford BC (CYXX).