Australia, and Canada are set to impose restrictions on travellers from China in the wake of spike in Covid-19 cases.

So far, more than a dozen countries and territories have imposed similar measures on travellers from China due to significant wave of Covid-19 infections in the country.

Australia and Canada mandates negative Covid-19 test results for all passengers travelling from mainland China, including the Special Administrative Regions of Hong Kong and Macau.

Effective from 5 January 2022, travellers to Australia will be required to show negative results for Covid-19 tests taken within the 48hrs prior to travel.

Australian Health Minister Mark Butler said: “While we are no longer in the emergency phase of the pandemic response in Australia, this decision has been made to safeguard Australia from the risk of potential new emerging variants, and in recognition of the rapidly evolving situation in China and uncertainty about emerging viral variants.”

Butler said that the new precautionary and temporary arrangements will be under review based on available information and the health advice.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

Furthermore, Canada requires negative COVID-19 test results for air travellers two years of age and older. This new 30-day measure is effective from 05 January.

In a press statement, the government said: “In response to the surge of COVID-19 in the People’s Republic of China and given the limited epidemiological and viral genomic sequence data available on these cases, the Government of Canada intends to put in place certain temporary health measures for air travellers entering Canada from China.”