This comes after Transport Secretary Grant Shapps announced that the ‘Stay in the UK’ regulation by the UK Government will no longer be in force from next week.

For now, around 12 countries and territories have been covered in the green list, including Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Portugal, Falkland Islands, Jerusalem, Singapore and more.

Based on the traffic light system framed by the Global Travel Taskforce, distinct levels of restriction will be put into place for individuals returning to England.

Last month, the government had announced plans to set up a traffic light system to classify international travel destinations based on Covid-19 risks.

This system will slot the foreign destinations into three categories, namely green, amber and red, based on which different degrees of quarantine and testing requirements will be determined for arriving passengers.

For the green category, the travellers will be required to take a pre-departure test and a polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test on or before day two of their arrival in the UK.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

However, they will not need to quarantine on return, unless they test positive for Covid-19.

Those arriving from destinations in the amber category will be required to quarantine for a period of ten days, along with the requirement of taking a pre-departure test and a PCR test on day two and day eight.

On the other hand, all arrivals from the red category will be required to follow the managed hotel quarantine requirements, which will last for ten days.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said: “This is a new way of doing things and people should expect travel to be different this summer, with longer checks at the borders as part of tough measures to prevent new strains of the virus entering the country and putting our fantastic vaccine rollout at risk. On top of this, to continue protecting the country against new variants of coronavirus, from 4am on Wednesday 12 May, the Maldives, Nepal and Turkey will be added to the red list.”