Understand the impact of the Ukraine conflict from a cross-sector perspective with the Global Data Executive Briefing: Ukraine Conflict

Russian airline company S7 has been suspended from the Oneworld frequent flyer alliance due to the Western sanctions on Russia for its invasion of Ukraine.

The suspension is effective from 19 April and will continue until further notice.

S7 stated on its website: “S7 Airlines and Oneworld have agreed to a suspension of S7 Airlines’ membership in the alliance effective 19 April 2022, until further notice.”

The airline company joined the Oneworld alliance in November 2010.

Oneworld alliance features leading airlines from around the world as well as approximately 30 affiliated carriers. These airlines operate more than 14,000 flights every day to around 1,000 destinations.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

S7 operates a fleet of A320, A319, A321, A321neo, A320neo, 737-800, 737-800BCF (freighter), 737 MAX 8 and Embraer 170 aircraft, reported Aviacionline.

The suspension is seen as another move to isolate Russia from the global aviation sector following its military invasion of Ukraine.

Many countries, including the US, UK, Canada and some European countries, have already closed their airspace to Russian airline companies.

However, Serbia is among the few European nations that have not imposed any sanctions on Russia. Its flag carrier, Air Serbia, announced last week that it would continue its operations to Russia.

Earlier this month, the European Commission (EC) updated its EU Air Safety List.

It added 21 Russia-certified airlines that do not meet international safety standards. According to the EC, Russia’s re-registration of foreign-owned aircraft created safety concerns, as they are operating without valid certificates of airworthiness.