The US Department of Transportation’s Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) has granted a Category 1 rating to Kenya, which demonstrates that the East African country has satisfied international aviation safety requirements.

Awarded under the FAA’s International Aviation Safety Assessment (IASA) programme, the Category 1 rating signifies that Kenya’s civil aviation authority complies with International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards. 

The rating will allow Kenyan airlines to secure FAA and Department of Transport (DOT) authority to serve the US using American carrier codes.

This Category 1 rating was awarded after a FAA assessment of the safety oversight provided by the Directorate General of Civil Aviation of Kenya.

"The rating will allow Kenyan airlines to secure FAA and Department of Transport (DOT) authority to serve the US using American carrier codes."

The FAA’s IASA programme evaluates civil aviation authorities of every country with air carriers that have applied to fly to the US.

All civil aviation authorities that intend to conduct operations or participate in code sharing arrangements with US partner airlines must also secure approval from the IASA programme.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

In order to maintain the Category 1 rating, Kenya needs to adhere to the safety standards of ICAO and the UN’s technical agency for aviation, which set international standards and recommended practices for aircraft operations and maintenance.