The UK Department for Transport has announced that passengers arriving in the UK from Luxembourg will have to undergo a mandatory 14-day self-isolation.

The country was removed from the list of exceptions after the Joint Biosecurity Centre and Public Health England data showed an increase in the level and pace of confirmed Covid-19 cases.

The data showcased that there is a consistent increase in Covid-19 cases per 100,000 of the population since the end of last month. There has been a more than tenfold increase in total cases during this time period.

Luxembourg has reported over 6,600 cases with more than 114 deaths so far.

In addition, the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO) has updated the travel advice for Luxembourg to only essential travel.

Those people in Luxembourg have been advised to adhere to the local rules and check the travel advice pages of FCO for further information.

The DFT has released a list of travel corridors to indicate the countries that will not require self-isolations if travelling from.

The UK Government has announced that it will adopt the necessary actions to limit the spread of the coronavirus, which includes the removal of countries from the list if the risk is too high.

On 28 July, the UK added Estonia, Latvia, Slovakia, Slovenia and St Vincent and the Grenadines to the exempt list and on 26 July removed Spain from the list.

Earlier this week, the Airport Operators Association (AOA) urged the Government of UK to exclude passengers arriving from Spain’s Balearic and Canary Islands from the mandatory 14-day quarantine.