Saudi Arabia has called off the travel ban on travellers arriving from 11 countries that was originally put in place to control the spread of Covid-19.

Quoting an Interior Ministry source, Saudi Press Agency stated that the permitted countries include the UAE, Germany, the US, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, the UK, Sweden, Switzerland, France, and Japan.

All travellers from these countries will now be able to enter the Kingdom.

However, according to the General Authority of Civil Aviation (GACA), the travellers from these countries will still be required to adhere to the institutional quarantine procedures.

The passengers will be undergoing a seven-day compulsory quarantine period at their own expense.

The quarantine period will begin from the day of their arrival at one of the country’s quarantine centres.

They will be allowed to leave on the seventh day only if they test negative.

The Interior Ministry source was quoted by the agency as saying: “This announcement is based on the Public Health Authority’s report regarding the epidemiological situation in a number of declared countries, which showed stability and effectiveness in controlling the pandemic in some of these countries.”

The Interior Ministry’s no-go flight red list now includes 13 countries.

These nations are Libya, Syria, Armenia, Somalia, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Afghanistan, Venezuela, Lebanon, Yemen, Iran, Turkey, Belarus, and India.

Prior permission will be required for citizens planning to travel to these countries.

Saudi Arabia imposed a temporary ban on the international flights in February this year, after a surge in Covid-19 cases.

The list of banned nations included around 20 countries.

These nations were Argentina, the UAE, France, Germany, Portugal, the UK, Turkey, South Africa, the US, Indonesia, India, Japan, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Sweden, the Swiss Confederation, Lebanon, and Egypt.