Understand the impact of the Ukraine conflict from a cross-sector perspective with the Global Data Executive Briefing: Ukraine Conflict

Russia has reportedly prohibited airlines from 36 countries, including 27 EU nations, as a response to sanctions imposed on the country for the Ukraine invasion.

The move comes soon after Europe, Canada and the UK shut their airspace for Russian airlines.

Names of some of the banned nations were announced by the Russian Federal Air Transport Agency Rosaviatsiya.

Rosaviatsiya said that countries including Albania, Anguilla, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, British Virgin Islands, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Jersey, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg and Malta are part of the banned countries list.

The list also includes countries such as the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the UK.

How well do you really know your competitors?

Access the most comprehensive Company Profiles on the market, powered by GlobalData. Save hours of research. Gain competitive edge.

Company Profile – free sample

Thank you!

Your download email will arrive shortly

Not ready to buy yet? Download a free sample

We are confident about the unique quality of our Company Profiles. However, we want you to make the most beneficial decision for your business, so we offer a free sample that you can download by submitting the below form

By GlobalData
Visit our Privacy Policy for more information about our services, how we may use, process and share your personal data, including information of your rights in respect of your personal data and how you can unsubscribe from future marketing communications. Our services are intended for corporate subscribers and you warrant that the email address submitted is your corporate email address.

By imposing a ban on using Russian airspace, airlines will have to take a new path for carrying passengers from Europe to Asia.

However, Rosaviatsia noted that flights will be allowed to use the Russian airspace only during special circumstances and must obtain the approval of the Russian aviation authority or foreign ministry.

Last month, the Russian aviation authority banned UK airlines from landing at its airports and crossing its airspace.

The move was made after the UK banned Russian flag carrier Aeroflot from landing in the country.

BBC quoted Russia’s civil aviation authority Rosaviatsia as stating: “This measure was taken in accordance with the provisions of the Intergovernmental Air Services Agreement between Russia and the UK as a response to unfriendly decisions by the UK aviation authorities regarding the restriction on regular flights of aircraft owned, leased or operated by a person associated with Russia or registered in Russia.”