Volcanic Ash Cloud Shuts Airspace Around the Mediterranean

11 May 2010 (Last Updated May 11th, 2010 18:30)

Airspace in Morocco, Spain and Turkey remained closed on 11 May as the volcanic ash cloud from Iceland drifted its way towards North Africa. Morocco closed ten airports, including Mohammed V International Airport, Rabat-Sale Airport, Tangier Ibn Batouta Airport, Fes-Saïss Airport, Agad

Airspace in Morocco, Spain and Turkey remained closed on 11 May as the volcanic ash cloud from Iceland drifted its way towards North Africa.

Morocco closed ten airports, including Mohammed V International Airport, Rabat-Sale Airport, Tangier Ibn Batouta Airport, Fes-Saïss Airport, Agadir - Al Massira Airport and Mogador Airport until 7am (0600 GMT; 2am EDT) today, according to the Associated Press.

Tan Tan Airport in Morocco was also shut as the cloud moved south.

Spain closed Tenerife North Airport and Tenerife South Airport, La Palma Airport, La Gomera Airport, San Pablo Airport Seville, Jerez Airport and Badajoz Airport.

Spain also imposed flight restrictions between 20,000ft and 35,000ft above the ground, mainly affecting transatlantic flights to and from other European countries.

In Turkey, flights from the west and southwest of Istanbul were suspended for several hours on Tuesday afternoon, however, Istanbul's two airports remained open throughout the period.

Turkey's aviation authority later reopened the airspace at 1515 GMT (11:15am EDT).